Are You Making These Five Blogging Blunders?

5

5 (Photo credit: svenwerk)

My friend, Kenneth Brauchler, a fabulous poet, told me that he enjoys revisiting my Blogging Tips page; he recommended that I do another article pertaining to my personal brand of blogging advice (Well Kenneth, today is your lucky day, because I followed up on your suggestion. And, guess what? I dedicated this article to you).

Without further ado, let us deeply submerge ourselves in my article:

1.) Lack Of Clarity

Unfortunately, there are a lot of bloggers who are unsure of what they want to write; this shows up in their posts (And, it can leave the reader confused).

Some people have problems sticking to a topic; for example: they may want to write about a great cup of tea and insert additional information that doesn’t pertain to tea; they end up wandering off of the topic — writing about something entirely different.

Now, if you are writing a review for smartphones, you shouldn’t drift off of the topic to tell me about chewing gum.

Also, if you are discussing a topic, you should be fairly knowledgeable about it; if you are not, you are wasting your time as well as the reader’s time.

2.) Unnecessary Babble

You and I have encountered those blogs where the duration of those articles seem to last almost forever; it makes us wonder: “When is this going to come to an end?”

In most instances, people dislike the idea of reading very long articles and they would move along to another post of yours that is shorter in length (Or, the worse case scenario being: they may immediately leave your blog when they see your long article).

It would be in your best interest to get to the point using less words as possible (Now, I am not saying that your article should be short like a tweet, I am merely recommending that you use your discretion where the length of your article is concerned).

3.) Not Keeping Your Readers In The Loop

Most bloggers like to know that they can view the updated posts of those they are following.

If your followers are accustomed to receiving posts from you on a daily basis and you start posting weekly without informing your followers of your changes, you are going to lose them; always keep your readers in the loop about the changes made to your blogging schedule.

4.) No Call-To-Action

There are a lot of bloggers who do not even think of asking their readers to follow their blog via Twitter, Facebook, etcetera.

Also, it never crossed their mind to kindly ask new readers to subscribe to their blog; great opportunities are lost by not doing this.

5.) Failure To Proofread

I have seen my fair share of misspelt words and grammatical errors on the internet and such sloppiness makes the writer look unprofessional (Even though you may be one of the many people doing a personal blog, I highly recommend that you proofread your work); the way in which you present your article says a whole lot about you.

The Conclusion

We might not be superhero bloggers that wear a blogging costume with a matching cape. But, bloggers like ourselves need to strive for a high level of excellence. We need to ask ourselves these questions: “Am I putting out work that is of a high quality?” Or, “Am I producing mediocrity?”

Just because blogging is fun, it doesn’t mean that we should do it in a helter skelter kind of way; it should be done with finesse.

If you enjoyed this article and you would like to read more posts of this nature, please feel free to follow this blog of mine.

Copyright © 2014 by Renard Moreau. All rights reserved.

Although the above material is copyrighted, you are invited to share it with others; it can be reblogged, distributed via social media and added to websites; provided that the article remains unaltered and you do not charge your readers to view them.

I kindly ask that you remember to include the author’s name (Renard Moreau) and a working link to: http://renardmoreau.wordpress.com

15 responses to “Are You Making These Five Blogging Blunders?

  1. Nice tips,though there is one point.As to the length of the article, it is related to the subject on hand .From the technical aspect of blogging any post of not less than 300 words does not get get crawled by the search engines.
    result one’s post does not get the exposure it might deserve.

    • [ Smiles ] I wouldn’t refer to an article of 300 words to be a long one (Well, that is just my opinion).

      In the past, I did some articles that were less than 300 words and I located them via Google.

      I will admit that Google pays attention to articles that are lengthy; but most people aren’t eager to read a lengthy article.

      Thank you so kindly for your input and for your participation.

      • One may not like Google,I do not like it, but one needs the reach Google can scale. Lengthier (only if relevant) gets more readers.Initially I was making my articles terse.When I updated them by being slightly expansive , the same post received more views.Caution, unnecessary dressing ends up by being classified as Spam. Really a tricky issue.Thanks.

      • [ Smiles ] You are welcome and I genuinely appreciate your insight!

  2. I think Renard, I break many of this tips… I do not post regular, just when I have something to say, but normally you will find a post once a week some times twice, If I have time…
    Lengths I agree… I know many are put off by lengthy reads, and often just click the like button and do not read one word..
    I often edit in my live writer and use spell check but I am human and can miss many LOL…
    My topics are varied but I hope always interesting… And if ever I should babble on Renard… I would be so so grateful if you would drop me a comment too and let me know LOL :-) ..

    I found your article interesting as all of your posts are..
    Blessings your way… and I hope you have a wonderful week…
    Sue xox

  3. You noticed too the deliberate typo… :-) hehe… :-)

  4. Great tips! Thanks for these. I’d like to think that I am already doing all of these, but I am very guilty of not proofreading properly for lack of time. I shall make more effort from now on.

  5. Pingback: Just Pondering Part 696 | Renard Moreau Presents

  6. True… I especially don’t like when the posts hasn’t been proofread…

Hey, Spill The Beans; Your Opinion Is Appreciated!

