More Technical Issues

Linksys RouterRecently, my router has been giving me a rather hard time; it keeps dropping my internet feed.

I know for a fact that the issue is not with my modem, because when I connect the laptop directly into the modem via a cord, I receive an internet feed.

Now, I did go through the steps of resetting both the router and the modem; that only rectified the problem temporarily; my internet feed came back for a brief moment and it was gone almost as fast as it had returned (Which to me is, totally annoying).

On the bright side, I can connect up my laptop to the modem; but that would mean not using my wireless router.

Does anyone know why it is I am only getting limited connectivity with my wireless router?

I tried going through the various forums online about the situation relating to my Lynksys router, but some of the people on the forum claimed that it can be an issue with the modem.

At the moment, I am utterly baffled and I wouldn’t mind reading your recommendations in the comments section.

I should have followed my mind and purchased an additional router when I had the chance.

I am hoping to get this technical issue resolved as soon as possible.

If you enjoyed this article and you would like to read more posts of this nature, please feel free to follow this blog of mine.

Copyright © 2014 by Renard Moreau. All rights reserved.

Although the above material is copyrighted, you are invited to share it with others; it can be reblogged, distributed via social media and added to websites; provided that the article remains unaltered and you do not charge your readers to view them.

I kindly ask that you remember to include the author’s name (Renard Moreau) and a working link to: http://renardmoreau.wordpress.com

12 responses to “More Technical Issues

  1. Just as well; wireless routers cause many ailments. I now only use ethernet in my home.

    • [ Smiles ] It is true that routers cause many ailments. However, the modem is just as bad and I would want to be far away from it as possible.

      Using the ethernet cord puts me in close proximity to the modem.

      When I use my router, I am in the opposite side of my house; which is far away from the router and my modem.

  2. You may be able to set your router so that it connects to a fixed IP address which I can’t remember how to do myself, but you may be able to find the answer here. I used to have this problem a few years ago and that’s how I would fix it. It would work for a few days before the router gave up being a pain and connected properly anyway.

  3. Three reasons:
    1. there is interference with the signal in the area: try moving the router.
    2. there is a virus on your computer overloading the connection: virus scan.
    3. someone else apart from you is using your connection who is overloading it: change passwords.

    • [ Smiles ] Thanks for the advice, Alex.

      My router started working again the following day.

      In regards to number one, instead of moving the router, it also helps to change the channel on the router.

      For example: if you are using channel 9 and one of your neighbours is also using channel 9 on their router, it can lead to interference.

      In regards to number 2, there is no virus currently on my system. Also, it started working normally the following day.

      In regards to number 3, my wireless router is used in conjunction with my laptop and two other smartphones.

      When the router was on limited connectivity, my laptop along with two other smartphones received no internet signal from the router.

Hey, Spill The Beans; Your Opinion Is Appreciated!

