The Social Network Issue

Social Network IconsAlmost everyone on the planet heard about PRISMNSA’s super-spy program.

Now, since you’ve heard about the spying scandal in regards to our social networks, do you feel differently about social networks; I bet you do!

Since the controversy, many people thought about deleting their Facebook and Google Plus accounts, to name a few (Actually, there were some who did just that).

In my case, I have no intentions of deleting my Twitter account and I don’t want to separate myself from the people on Facebook.

In the meantime, we can limit the information that we post of ourselves (or post no information of ourselves) on the social networks that we are a part of.

If you have been doing a wonderful service of enlightening people via your posts, it would be unfair to delete those social networks that you have been spreading your messages of Light on.

In reality, we don’t need social networks; it is just a choice that we have made on our behalf to utilize them for the betterment of mankind.

However, the real issue is: the violation of the user’s privacy.

The choice is always ours to delete those social network accounts of ours. But, I have a strong feeling that the intelligence agencies can still acquire information about us, with or without, the use of social networks.

14 responses to “The Social Network Issue

  1. think when you know how computers work….i would have been more surprised if the news was that they DIDN’T filter communications. in fact over the years i’ve played with it, putting what i know are key terms into one entry…..just for fun. maybe i read it somewhere years ago but i thought everyone knew that internet communications were scanned.

  2. it’s actually not that different than what google does…..anyone can google your name and up pops everything with your name. i should hope our government is a step ahead of private industry and technology. :)

  3. Reblogged this on euzicasa and commented:
    ANd you should!

  4. idk, i always assumed that my communications were monitored. I just do my best to lead a life that leaves me with nothing to hide. Unless they want to hold me guilty of eating unhealthy or indulging in my favourite pass times, I think its cool that they watch out for those who are actually a threat to the people as a whole.

  5. I see many commenting on other sites that they have always thought they were being monitored and accepted it as a part of life. I wonder how this reality affects us, inhibits what we say and do everyday. I wonder how many people are more careful of what they say and write because someone is monitoring. Most people say nothing that would be of concern to who ever might be listening. There are to me too many what if scenarios where some insignificant things could be used and misinterpreted at a later date. The real problem is that you don’t know.

  6. I have nothing to hide from the government. I abide by the laws and dont mind if they need to hear mundane blather. But, i do mind the snoopy inlaws and socialites who have infiltrated my FB page and therefore I will soon delete that site.

    Sometimes its the people who know us and who eavesdrop on us who hurt us by using our comments or posts against us.

  7. Twitter has escaped the controversy of the spying scandal so I will still use it. The authorities are delighted at how stupid and willing the public are in giving them their personal information via Facebook and Google.

Hey, Spill The Beans; Your Opinion Is Appreciated!

