Just Pondering Part 402

Desktop-Computer-D4300-.jpgIn the past, I used to pay regular visits to a lady’s blog; it was positive in nature; it started as a simple WordPress sub-domain and it was upgraded to a dot net (.net).

Unfortunately, her blog didn’t last long; it lasted only for a few months.

Many times, I wondered why such a great blog like hers didn’t attract much attention (Unfortunately, I never had an email address for her, because I would have inquired about the deletion of her blog).

I believe that a lot of people would have done the same thing that she did (And of course, there would be a large group of people who would stick with it, because they LOVE blogging and it wouldn’t matter one bit if they had zero followers).

The lady had few followers and two comments per article for the most. There were times when I was the only one who pressed, “Like” and the only one who commented on her article.

She probably thought that her blog was an absolute failure and that she had wasted her time and energy blogging.

Now, if a person’s blog touched the lives of a handful of people, how could that be a failure? I would deem it a success.

I have noticed that a lot of the newcomers (and a lot of the older heads too), do not think about utilizing the power of the social media to promote their blog (By the way, there are a few successful bloggers who don’t use the social media to promote their blog; but their blog was shared by their followers on the followers’ social media; this proves that by sharing the blog via those social networks like Twitter, Facebook and Pinterest to name a few, the blog acquired a certain level of success).

A person can even go a step further by creating a Facebook page for their blog (In my case, I didn’t create a Facebook page for my blog, because I decided that I would share my blog on my regular Facebook profile-page).

I believe that the lady could have experimented with various methods of promoting her blog with the aid of Networked Blogs and those similar to it (It’s as though she gave up without a fight).

Another thing to place into consideration is: what are some people’s motive for blogging? Are they doing it to be famous? Or, are they doing it for the sheer fun of it? Or, are they doing it to make money? There are those who blog to make extra money by utilizing AdSense, etcetera.

Well, I didn’t see any ads on the lady’s blog. So, I don’t think that acquiring cash via her blog was the motive for her blogging.

Nobody said that blogging would be an easy task. There are countless blogs out there in the blogosphere and yours is like a proverbial grain of sand on a vast beach. A blogger would have to provide their viewers with something unique and intriguing in order to capture their attention and the best way of doing that is to be, You!

20 responses to “Just Pondering Part 402

  1. I have taken words of advice from your blog and blogging tips all around. Keep writing and I am amazed at how my blog is now going. In just a short time.

  2. My poems are all that I have. I’ve never really been good at anything and I would constantly feel like I’m not good enough for anyone but I’ve made peace with myself. When I started my poetry based blog in July 2011, I would go online every few hours to see how many times my blog was viewed or if anybody liked a post. After 22 disastrous yet completely amazing months of blogging I’m content with how my blog is turning out. Yes, it still makes me a wee bit sad if my stats drop but it doesn’t matter as much as it used to. By god’s grace, I’ve a handful of followers and occasionally fellow bloggers drop a few comments. I’ve never used Facebook for publicizing. Somehow it didn’t feel right. Its really sad that the lady you talk about deleted her blog. She should have had more belief in herself. I hope wherever she is, she’s happy. :)

    Good luck to you too. :)

  3. Contributing to the WordPress community by reading, commenting and liking blogs works too. Blogs are rarely successful without hard work.

  4. This is a case with many bloggers (which i know) .. and you have rightfully pointed out that if there are less followers and handful of comments, they consider that its not the worth to continue and they end up not utilizing the blog to connect and reach to like headed people ! I think self motivation and believe on your own articles and content is very important, rest follows !

  5. She must have gone to other site, like Experience project for their are many stories to share..and wordpress is a bit complicated..but of course there are many reasons for bloggers to quit, not just for thinking she failed..or feeling she did..thats whywe got this wards ..but umh..I don’t think you ever gave her any award did you ?

  6. I am surprised at how well my blog is doing.

    Yours, I know why it does well. You have such a diverse array of subjects that you cover. Information, music, recipes, poetry. A great mix bag

  7. Perhaps in stopping, she felt she wasn’t being heard. That makes me sad. But if you were one person clicking like, to know you reached one person…would be enough (for me). It’s great you do these posts to inspire people to continue and help them figure out ways to generate traffic, if that’s their need. Blessings on your day friend.

  8. over the years I’ve been on the internet I’ve discovered the same things you talk about…and I’ve had to adjust my thinking to the reality of the situation…and actually I’m good with the less than 10 bloggers who visit me on my Google and WordPress blogs. let’s face it, in my everyday life, I tend to enjoy the friendship of a few long term friends…why would it be different on the internet?

  9. Good point here. I have to say even if I would reach one person in the world I can touch wiht my writings I would be grateful. I think at the beginning we are all about statistics, I do remember checking my stats all the time then too, I don’t do that anymore, I enjoy blogging and every reader I have is a bonus for me and makes me happy. Also all comments. I think people shouldn’t give up so easily!

Hey, Spill The Beans; Your Opinion Is Appreciated!

