Statistics Checkers

Are you one of those people who constantly check their statistics whenever you are online?

Very often, I encounter comments about people who check their statistics regularly; I encountered this while browsing through WordPress.

Honestly speaking, I would check my statistics out of curiosity; I see nothing wrong in doing so, because it is a nice way to see how well you are doing. The problem arises when checking your statistics becomes an addiction. There are those who would pull their hair out from off of their head if they didn’t know how many people visited their site for the day; I perceive this to be rather crazy.

Once your blog contains great content, why should you be bothered?

Unfortunately, there are countless people who are afflicted with obsessive compulsive disorder.

19 responses to “Statistics Checkers

  1. I use to check statistics when I first started blogging. I actually only check it out on the day I am posting something. I am not out for fame I just enjoy what I do and that is what counts to me,besides my readers and others I follow.

  2. I am a recovering statistics checker – actually I am not yet in the recovery stage – is there a sca (statistics checker anonymous) – I may need an intervention

    • [ Laughs ] Maybe some brave soul will make the move to create “Statistics checker anonymous.”

      As of now, you’re on your own!

      Thank you for your participation and for dropping by!

  3. I am new to all this and am trying to use stats to identify patterns… do people read more in a certain time of day….which posts seem to attract the most subscribers… not finding too many patterns yet. Although Wednesdays seem slow.

  4. Each time I read one of your well written blogs I am a little more knowledgeable in the blogging arena. Thank you.

  5. As a very new blogger – hands up, the Stats icon has been getting a pounding. But what I’m getting slightly more concerned about is the sheer volume of absolutely brilliant stuff that other people are posting – I had no idea this medium was quite so rich. So the ‘Reader’ icon has quickly started to take priority over stats – which is all very well apart from the fact that I work from home; I fear that I might be putting myself out of a job in the not too different future!

  6. I think we all go through that phase of stat checking. Then you slowly realize there is no rhyme or reason to it. I do however check regularly for comments. I’m a huge believer (as are you I see) in answering each and every comment.

  7. Northern Narratives

    At the beginning, I checked my stats and was excited to see that people were looking at my blog. But after a couple of weeks, I became bored with looking at stats and now I rarely do it.

  8. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back!

  9. Pingback: I’m obsessed by statistics! « bluedeckshoe.com

  10. Reblogged this on Brian Jessee Post.

Hey, Spill The Beans; Your Opinion Is Appreciated!

