Just Pondering Part 119

When I was a young boy, I was never pleased with the idea of people trying to force their religious ideology on me; even though I am an adult now, the feeling is still the same.

In most cases, we are born into a religion. (That doesn’t mean that you have to remain a member of that particular religion; you are always free to change it if you want to).

One of my pet-peeves is: religions that claim that they are the only true path to God (I always thought that there was something wrong with that picture).

In my humble opinion, people should be free to worship God/Goddess in any manner that they choose.

I have said on numerous occasions, “One can lead a spiritual life without being religious.”

14 responses to “Just Pondering Part 119

  1. Bravo, I support that idea.

  2. I agree. Religions are man made. Did you ever wonder what religion God would be? I use to think that as a kid. Have a good evening.

  3. I agree. No one can ever tell me what I should believe or not believe. I know I’m spiritual and what I believe. However, I am not a fan of religion. Not all are bad, but when anyone wants to tell me what I should and should not believe and that I will go to “hell” I draw the line.

    Besides, aren’t most wars centered around anger over my religion is better than your religion?? Sad actually. the very thing I’m pretty sure any God is against.

  4. Yes i agree Renard and unfortunately most people just stay with the religion they are born into rather than thinking for themselves, the same with the food they eat. Most people in Ireland are nominal catholics, as in they do not adhere to the rules of the religion but turn up for a few days out in a lifetime like white weddngs, baptisms etc. I dont believe in organised religion, Im more inclined to believe in the universal energy which we were all apart of harmonising with each other and nature, the power of all of us, rather than one omnipotent being.

  5. Although I became a Catholic (NO one else wanted someone who had encountered Mary and hungered for the eucharist) I Know that the religious, self-righteous spirit kills true spirituality. Sometimes I say higher power of the light so I do not offend or because in reality, that is what I usually experience.

  6. Pingback: Awards and Blog Recommendations « Candid Concourse

  7. Yet again a thoughtful post. Born as hindu I do follow Buddhism – which isn’t a religion just a practice of faith and spirituality. Infact spirituality moves away the moment we think about religion. Good post!

Hey, Spill The Beans; Your Opinion Is Appreciated!

