Facebook And I

I must admit that I have learned a lot from Facebook; it surely exceeded my expectations.

The irony is: in the beginning, I never really wanted a Facebook account. Friends and relatives tried their best to inveigle me into setting up an account; their attempts were fruitless.

Then one day, the most interesting thing happened. My mother wanted to view photographs of her niece, Tricia. She couldn’t see Tricia’s pictures because she didn’t have a Facebook account. I remembered volunteering to create an account for her; she refused my offer and looked at me with a smile and said, “Why don’t you create an account?” I obliged.

That evening, my mother was able to see her niece’s pictures via my Facebook account; that was the beginning of a whole new experience.

My cousin, Tricia was my first Facebook friend. Not long after, my number of friends on Facebook started to grow at an exponential rate.

Everyday, I would post positive and uplifting quotes by philosophers, scientists, various spiritual sages and celebrities.

Then a few months later, I started posting my own quotations; people around the world loved them and wanted to read more of what I had to write.

There were open discussions about numerous topics; I found the experience enjoyable because it was mind expanding in nature; everyone learned a lot.

I also visited the pages of my friends. I encountered many interesting things; I read them all.

Facebook is a wonderful experience; especially when you are using it as a medium to share ideas amongst like-minded friends.

Today, there are many people who see Facebook in a negative manner. There are also those people (such as myself) who perceive it as something being positive.

I believe it has a lot to do with an individual’s psychological and spiritual maturity; you would be able to ascertain that by the quality of their posts.

There were rumours circulating that Facebook was shutting down; so far, they are just rumours. I believe that Facebook will be around for a long time to come.

7 responses to “Facebook And I

  1. Don’t you just hate it when you share and nobody takes the time to care? I mean what value is a “like” to the one liking when compared to the warmth of heart it provides the one “liked”? A like only takes a click yet even that sacrifice is held in high esteem by the “liker”. Are we afraid our like will in some way lose value if offered freely? But I ramble on your page, altoghter unfair, it is because of you I wound up here. Facebook has become a curse to many now due to the massive number of friends, but it has always been just a way to keep in touch with family. Grwat post, I liked the original intentions, facebook is a commercial venture now but still worth it just to say, “I uploaded a few of my boy today!” :)

  2. Facebook is a tool I have learnt you carve to make what you will of it. If you wanna have fun, have fun! If you wanna have topical debates, have topical debates. If you wanna share everything about yours and your cats life, then share that. It’s about choice…and some people get burnt believing it’s real life. It’s not! I would be interested to hear how your views on Facebook has changed almost three years later?

Hey, Spill The Beans; Your Opinion Is Appreciated!

